Skip to content

Trader Joe’s Desi Treasures

May 2, 2010

I have long been a Trader Joe’s fan, not least for the extraordinary amount of Desi food available on their shelves. After much sampling and experimentation, I have decided that two items tie for my new award, Trader Joe’s Desi Treasure.

For a mango-starved Desi, Chile Spiced Mango is manna from heaven. Salted and spiced raw mango is a popular Indian street snack, and this Trader Joe’s product is the closest I have found in the USA. However, be warned by the colour: this is dried mango coated in chile powder. Even if you are a spice-hardened desi, it can set your mouth on fire. Literally. My suggestion is to dip it in some full cream yogurt (known as dahi to desis) to take some of the heat off.

There is nothing that compares to Trader Joe’s Vegetable Masala Burger, even in Des. These scrumptious potato patties are studded with little gems of carrot, corn and green beans, and come conveniently frozen. Just slap onto a hot griddle and roast both sides. Then slip it between two slices of bread, and go to Desi Heaven.

Keep it up, Trader Joe’s!

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 4, 2010 10:32 am

    I, too, enjoy the Chili Spiced Mango. I feel that I should go get some now in hopes that they, unlike wine, might cure colds with their sweet fire.

Leave a comment