Skip to content

How the NYT taught me something about India

May 2, 2010

Over the past few months, I have been obsessed with tracking the coverage of India in the New York Times. I constantly compare their coverage with reports in the local media, trying thereby to understand how they view my country and the region.

It is a rewarding exercise. Sometimes, they are keenly interested in India’s response to global issues – with regards to the Roman Catholic Church, for instance. The Catholic Bishop’s Conference of India is taking a tough line on all allegations of abuse, while the rest of the world still dilly-dallies.

I have also taken umbrage at some of their articles. I once found their coverage of Pakistan bordering on the offensive, on their At War Blog.

But never has the New York Times really given me information about my country that I did not already know or expect – until now. This lovely article about eating in New Delhi surprised me, with its real insider information, and understanding of Indian cuisine. I know it isn’t earth-shattering news, but that’s what makes it so special – the intimacy of the information it provides. Kudos, NYT.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

